MVP NBA 2016: Who Won Most Valuable Player This Year

The NBA MVP voting is in and the winner has been announced. As no surprise to anyone, Steph Curry won the award for back-to-back season.  Curry is the 1st unanimous MVP in NBA history. There have been a couple people who were just one vote away, but Curry is now in the history books for first ever unanimous MVP. Curry is also the first guard to win back-to-back awards since Steve Nash took home the honors in the seasons 04-05 and then again in 05-06.
The top 5 rounded out with Kawhi Leonard at number two, LeBron James at number 3 followed by Russell Westbrook and Kevin Durant.

Curry and the Warriors are currently leading the series 3-1 against the Portland Trailblazers in the Western Conference semifinals. Curry came of the bench last game after an injury and dropped 40 points leading the team to a 7 point victory in OT.  Curry put up 402 3-pointers this seasons which beat his previous record of 286.

The Last 10 NBA MVPs:

2016: Stephen Curry
2015: Stephen Curry
2014: Kevin Durant
2013: LeBron James
2012: LeBron James
2011: Derrick Rose
2010: LeBron James
2009: LeBron James
2008: Kobe Bryant
2007: Dirk Nowitzki

Steph Curry Broke Paul Allen and Charles Barkley
Steph Curry Broke Paul Allen and Charles Barkley