UFC 259 Results: 2 Champions Retain Titles; Shocking DQ Gives New Champ

Fortaleza, Ceará, Brazil, march 11, 2017. UFC Fight Night: Belfort vs. Gastelum. Octagon, stadium gym.


The Ultimate Fighting Championship kicked up the month of March with a star-studded UFC 259 pay-per-view featuring a whopping three championship bouts.

When the night was all said and done, two titles were retained while one bit switched had after a shocking disqualification.

To kick off the championship action, Aljamain Sterling became the new bantamweight champion after taking an illegal knee flush to the head. Ringside doctors and the referee deemed Sterling was unable to continue after the intentional foul and he was declared the new 135-pound champion.

In the co-main event, Amanda Nunes continued her dominance with a TKO victory over Megan Anderson in just two minutes.

Finally, in the main event, Jan Blachowicz spoiled middleweight champion Israel Adesanya’s attempt to become a two-division champion by earning a close unanimous decision to retain the light heavyweight strap.

The main card also featured a dominant performance from Islam Makhachev, a close training of Khabib Nurmagomedov who many think can be the next big UFC star.

If you missed out on the action, we have you covered.

A full look at the UFC 259 pay-per-view results can be seen below.


  • Jan Blachowicz def. Israel Adesanya via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-45, 49-45)
  • Amanda Nunes def. Megan Anderson via submission (armbar) – Round 1, 2:03 – to defend women’s featherweight title
  • Aljamain Sterling def. Petr Yan via disqualification (illegal knee) – Round 4, 4:29 – to become UFC bantamweight champion
  • Islam Makhachev def. Drew Dober via submission (arm-triangle choke) – Round 3, 1:37
  • Aleksandar Rakic def. Thiago Santos via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
  • Dominick Cruz def. Casey Kenney via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)
  • Kyler Phillips def. Song Yadong via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Askar Askarov def. Joseph Benavidez via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)
  • Kai Kara-France def. Rogerio Bontorin via TKO (punch) – Round 1, 4:55
  • Tim Elliott def. Jordan Espinosa via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-25)
  • Kennedy Nzechukwu def. Carlos Ulberg via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 3:19
  • Sean Brady def. Jake Matthews via submission (arm-triangle choke) – Round 3, 3:28
  • Amanda Lemos def. Livinha Souza via TKO (punch) – Round 1, 3:39
  • Uros Medic def. Aalon Cruz via TKO (strikes) – Round 1, 1:40
  • Trevin Jones def. Mario Bautista via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 0:47
Amanda Nunes vs Megan Anderson Live Stream: Watch UFC 259 Online
Amanda Nunes vs Megan Anderson Live Stream: Watch UFC 259 Online
  • 12847423802543462