Who Are The 11 Franchises Never To Have Won The NBA Championship?

NBA, Basketball


Most sports fans are familiar with the zero to hero story of Michael Jordan’s Chicago Bulls, the dominance of the Boston Celtics in the 1960’s, and more recently the Steph Curry inspired Golden State Warriors march to three titles.

But what about the sides who rarely trouble the NBA betting odds but have helped play a major role in making the sport what it is today?

We run through the sides yet to go all the way in the NBA Championship finals despite an abundance of history.

Brooklyn Nets

The Knicks may get most of the New York accolades, but the Nets have had some time in the spotlight. Founded in 1967 as the New Jersey Americans, in the mid 2000’s the Nets claimed four division titles and in 2002, 2003 claimed the conference title but are still yet to go all the way.

Charlotte Hornets

Founded in 1988, the Charlotte Hornets are one of the more well-known NBA franchises despite a clear lack of on court success. The team are still waiting for their first Championship, Conference, or even Division title.

Denver Nuggets

Founded in 1967 as the Denver Rockets, today, the Nuggets are a side on the up and even claimed a Division title in 2020. It was their ninth division title in total but that is as far as it has gone, never to a Conference title and certainly never all the way to the Championship.

Indiana Pacers

The Pacers made it all the way to the Championship final in 2000 led by Celtics legend Larry Bird but unfortunately could not overcome a powerful LA Lakers.

Los Angeles Clippers

It must be hard for the Clippers sharing the city with the far more famous Lakers and it has shown, with the Clippers boasting just two division titles in their history.

Memphis Grizzlies

Founded in 1995, the Grizzlies are yet to make a big impact on the NBA with no division, conference, or even a Championship final appearance to their name.

Minnesota Timberwolves 

The Timberwolves most successful season to date came in 2004 when they claimed a division title. That is as good as it has got for the side founded in 1989.

New Orleans Pelicans

The Pelicans are one of the newer sides in the NBA having only been formed in 2002. They showed signs of promise too winning the division title in 2008. However, they are yet to make it to the Championship finals.

Orlando Magic

Magic are one of the most recognisable NBA sides but remarkably have failed in both their Championship finals seasons winning just one game between the two series.

Phoenix Suns

The Suns have the best historical record won/loss record of any side in the NBA yet to win the Championship. They twice made it to the Championship series final but lost to the Celtics in 1976 and the Bulls in 1993.

Utah Jazz

Jazz have been dealt a cruel blow twice in the NBA Championship finals by the Chicago Bulls and despite nine division titles, are yet to get over the line in ‘the big one’.

How Big Will Online Sports Betting Become In The Future?
How Big Will Online Sports Betting Become In The Future?
  • 12847423802543462