How Do MLB Umpires Not Know A Rule That Is Almost Too Simple Not To Know?


MLB rule 3.05 (b) states: “If the pitcher is replaced, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat, or any substitute batter, until such a batter is put out or reaches first base, or until the offensive team is put out, unless the substitute pitcher sustains injury or illness.”

So how did four umpires not get this right last night in Houston? Maybe Joe Torre can tell us how he’s protecting the integrity of the game and that the umpires followed protocol.

Of course the Angels won the game 6-5, but that is beside the point.

    • You Might Like