Mammoth Blown Call In Pirates-Braves 19th Inning Affair [Morning Twitpic]

Umpire Jerry Meals said early this morning that he might have been wrong in the bottom of the 19th inning for his blown call in the Braves-Pirates marathon. “I saw the tag, but he looked like he oléd him and I called him safe for that.” Can’t really blame Meals here, folks. Imagine wearing that equipment for 19 innings. You’d want the game over, too. Julio Lugo said he was never tagged. The catcher said Lugo was tagged. The umpire said safe.

Posted: Like 2 hours ago

Premise of Video: Jerry Meals gives umpires another black eye with this 19th inning hosing.

Climax of Video: Even if the catcher didn’t tag him, Lugo should have been out for being 3-feet from home plate when the phantom tag was applied.

Conclusion: Guess where Jerry Meals was born. Yep, Pennsylvania. No going home now, Meals. You’ve burnt a couple bridges.