Umpire Blown Call
Jul 27, 2011
Mammoth Blown Call In Pirates-Braves 19th Inning Affair [Morning Twitpic]

Mammoth Blown Call In Pirates-Braves 19th Inning Affair [Morning Twitpic]

Umpire Jerry Meals said early this morning that he might have been wrong in the bottom of the 19th inning for his blown call in the Braves-Pirates marathon. "I saw the tag, but he looked like he ol├ęd him and I called him safe for that." Can't really blame Meals here, folks. Imagine wearing that equipment for 19 innings. You'd want the game over, too. Julio Lugo said he was never tagged. The catcher said Lugo was tagged. The umpire said safe. Watch the video - JUMP!